Category Archives: Primary 4

World Book Day event

Dear Primary Parents/Carers,

We would like to invite you into school on Friday 2nd March at 11.50am to visit Blackwell’s Book Fair in the Infant Hall where books will be available for you to look through and purchase.

Children may come to school dressed up as a book character on Friday 2nd March, to celebrate World Book Day. They will be able to exchange their £1 National Book Token for a free World Book Day book at the Blackwell’s Book Fair in school.  Other books will be available to buy or order.

School will end at the usual time of 12.15pm.

World Book Day

World Book Day is the 1st March this year.  To celebrate this event, pupils can come to school on Friday 2nd March, dressed up as their favourite book character or author.  Children will be taking part in fun activities to celebrate stories and share their love for reading. All pupils will receive a £1 National book token and get a World Book Day book free or £1 off ANY book or audiobook worth £2.99 or more at participating booksellers. Blackwell’s will be coming into school on Friday 2nd March to set up a book fair stall where children can exchange their token for a World Book Day book at no cost, or buy a book and use their £1 token towards the cost of the book.WBD

Key Dates

Here are the key dates for the remainder of this session.  Please note that the Sports Day has been moved to Friday 1st June as our Fabulous 50th Big Birthday Bash will be taking place on Friday 25th May.  More information to follow.

Friday 2nd February P6 assembly @ 9.00am
Friday 9th February P4 – P7 Pantomime trip
Friday 9th February School closes for February holiday
Monday 19th February School open for staff and children
Friday 2nd March World Book Day celebrations
Friday 9th March P4 assembly @ 9.00am
Friday 16th March P3 assembly @ 9.00am
Thursday 29th March School closes at normal time on Thursday for Easter holiday (P1 & P2 – 2.45pm, P3 – P7 – 3.05pm)
Tuesday 17th April School open for staff and children
Friday 27th April P2 assembly @ 9.00am
Friday 4th May P5 assembly @9.00am
Monday 7th May School closed – May Day holiday (one day holiday)
Tuesday 8th May In-service day – staff only
Thursday 10th May Parent-Teacher Consultations 4.00pm – 6.30pm
Friday 11th May Parent-Teacher Consultations 1.00pm – 3.30pm
Friday 18th May P1 assembly
Monday 21st May School closed – Spring holiday (one day holiday)
Friday 25th May Fab 50th Big Birthday Bash
Friday 1st June Sports Day
Friday 8th June Back-up Sports Day
Tuesday 19th – Thursday 21st June P7 transition days to High Schools
Friday 29th June P7 leavers assembly @ 11.00am
Friday 29th June School closes at 12 noon for summer holiday